For Pete’s Sake, It Has Potential!

For Pete's Sake    900 S Front St, Philadelphia, PA 19147fpsburger

For Pete’s Sake, Queen Village – 900 S Front St, Philadelphia PA 19147 (Find it!)

As an avid fan of both beer and hamburgers, I’m constantly searching for venues where I can enjoy a frosty brew and a juicy patty with minimal fuss. While Philadelphia’s burger scene is experiencing a major resurgence as of late with heavy-hitters such as Butcher and Singer (I will be visiting and blogging about soon) and The Pub & Kitchen (ditto), I’ve always had an affinity for the classic neighborhood pub. A place where no one cares if I have ketchup all over my face. A place to watch the game, enjoy a few drinks, and scarf down a delicious burger. For Pete’s Sake certainly delivers on the first two requirements, but unfortunately the burger just wasn’t up to par.

Since moving to Queen Village in January, I’ve made it a point to try as many new area restaurants as possible. With literally hundreds of places within walking distance to choose from, it’s often difficult to narrow down the options. On one particularly steamy Sunday afternoon, I was looking for something simple to quiet my hunger and alleviate the symptoms of  Saturday night’s excess. I decided to try For Pete’s Sake as it is always crowded for lunch and dinner on the weekends. There was ample outdoor seating available, but the 6-block voyage had left me exhausted and dehydrated so I opted for the air conditioning instead. Inside was quiet and comfortable, a few regulars at the bar and the Phillies game on TV. The perfect setting for a Sunday afternoon lunch.

On to the food. Well… almost. As I was waiting for my burger to arrive, a plate full of FPS’s Guinness Battered Fish and Chips cruised by and I had a momentary sensation of regret for not having ordered them. But hey, this is Here’s the Beef, so Beef it shall be. When my platter finally arrived, my salivary glands kicked into overdrive. The Char Grilled Black Angus Burger, served medium-rare on a brioche onion bun, was piled high with a thick slice of tomato, red onion, lettuce, two slabs of bacon, and provolone cheese melted to perfection. I just couldn’t wait for that first bite. I raised my elbows, grabbed the skyscraper of a sandwich, and dove in. It took a few more mammoth mouthfuls for me to get a taste of all the ingredients, and while the texture of the burger and all of its components was satisfying, there was a distinct lack of flavor to the meat. Now, I’m not a food purist by any means. Some so-called burger experts would tell you the more seasoning and toppings in or on the meat, the more you take away from the true nature of a hamburger. Not to say that I can’t appreciate the simplicity, but with respect to flavor this burger was simply uninspired. I’m likely to give it another chance sometime in the future (could have been an off day in the kitchen), but I know this city has much more to offer in the meantime, and you’ll be reading about those experiences very soon.

Here’s the Beef: I love the atmosphere here and the rotating selection of local beers will have me coming back. As for the burger, it was simply underwhelming. The onion roll is a nice touch and the sandwich looked amazing, but that wasn’t enough to counter the lack of seasoning in the meat. I’ll keep For Pete’s Sake in mind for a rainy day, but don’t expect to see it in my Top 5.

BURGER: 6 out of 10

ESTABLISHMENT: 7.5 out of 10

3 thoughts on “For Pete’s Sake, It Has Potential!

  1. I agree – FPS was such a letdown for me. It always seems so crowded though which is mind-boggling. Maybe people just don’t like eating good food that they can get elsewhere in the ‘hood…

    Like

Leave a comment